Weekend Food For Kids

Hungry children cannot concentrate, pay attention, or perform well in school. The nutrition provided by a weekend backpack program helps children from families who are struggling and needing assistance with food. We invite families with students at the elementary, middle, and high school levels in our service area of Ballard, Magnolia, and Queen Anne to participate in our Weekend Food for Kids Program. 

This confidential program is supported by a caring community. School staff, teachers, and family members identify students who would benefit from weekend meals. Each week our food bank provides our partner schools with the food. School personnel or volunteers then discreetly distribute bags of food to students in need. For families in our service area please note: Weekend bags of food are in addition to shopping at the food bank once per week for your family.

Delivery Days

Parent volunteers deliver bags to schools each week for distribution on Fridays. This program runs throughout the school year (September to June). We take care to adjust food items for students who have food allergies or special dietary needs.

If you have a child enrolled in a Seattle Public School in our service area, they qualify for this free program.

Summer Sites

For Participants Only

Broadview-Thomson
Summer Staircase Program

Edwina Washington at 206-252-4080

McClure Middle School
PAL Summer Program
Won Choi at 206-252-1861

Cate Apartments Residents
312 NW 85th St
Seattle, WA 98117
Michael Eng at 206-782-2114

Open to Everyone

Ballard - Seattle Public Library
5614 22nd Ave. NW
Seattle, WA 98107
Call 206-684-4089 to sign up

Ballard Boys & Girls Club
1767 NW 64th St
Seattle, WA 98107
Kara Spoelstra at 206-436-1870

Bitter Lake Community Center
13035 Linden Ave N
Seattle. WA 98133
Cynthia Etelamaki at 206-684-7524

Coe Boys & Girls Club
2424 7th Ave W
Seattle, WA 98119
Marty Horne at 206-281-9197

Loyal Heights Community Center
2101 NW 77th St
Seattle, WA 98117
Monica Haugen at 206-684-4052

North Seattle Boys & Girls Club
8635 Fremont Ave N
Seattle, WA 98103
Devon Criswell at 206-436-1851

Queen Anne Helpline
311 W. McGraw St
Seattle, WA 98119
Lisa Barnes at 206-282-1540

School Year Sites

 Adams Elementary                                  6110 28th Ave NW                            Seattle, WA 98107                                    (206) 252-1300                                  Contact: Michael Murphy     mmurphy@seattleschools.org

 Ballard High School
 1418 NW 65th St
 Seattle, WA  98117
 (206) 252-1000
 Contact: Anne Chu  Anne.Chu@swedish.org

Broadview-Thomson K-8
13052 Greenwood Ave N
Seattle, WA  98133
(206) 252-4080
Contact: Lauri McVicar lmcvicar@seattleschools.org

Catherine Blaine K-8
2550 34 Ave W
Seattle, WA  98199
(206) 252-1920
Contact: Elaine Merz ermerz@seattleschools.org

Coe Elementary  
2424 7th Ave W
Seattle, WA 98119
(206) 252-2000
Contact: Leanne Loewe
ldloewe@seattleschools.org

Greenwood Elementary                         144 NW 80th St                                   Seattle, WA 98117                                   (206) 252-1400                                 Contact: Page Byers     kpbyers@seattleschools.org

John Hay Elementary
201 Garfield St
Seattle, WA  98109
(206) 252-2100
Contact: Michael Berkenwald
mlberkenwald@seattleschools.org 

Lawton Elementary
4000 27 Ave W
Seattle, WA  98199
(206) 252-2130
Contact: Susan Lundh
smlundh@seattleschools.org

Loyal Heights Elementary
at John Marshall Building
520 NE Revenna Blvd
Seattle, WA 98115
(206) 252-1500
Contact: Kathryn Katzen kkatzen@seattleschools.org

 

McClure Middle School
1915 1st Ave W
Seattle, WA  98119
(206) 252-1900
Contact: Lisa Dawson
ldawson@seattleschools.org

North Beach Elementary
9018 24th Ave NW
Seattle, WA 98117
(206) 252-1510
Contact: Alysa Reid
arreid@seattleschools.org

Queen Anne Elementary                            411 Boston St                                       Seattle, WA 98109                                 (206) 252-2480                                   Contact: Jennifer Connolly
jaconnolly@seattleschools.org 

Robert Eagle Staff Middle School
1330 N 90th St.
Seattle, WA  98103
(206) 252-1473
Contact: Carley Spitzer
cmspitzer@seattleschools.org

    Salmon Bay K-8
    1810 NW 65 St
    Seattle, WA  98117
    (206) 252-1720
    Contact: Jodi Russell
    jrrussell@seattleschools.org

    West Woodland Elementary
    5601 4 Ave NW
    Seattle, WA  98107
    (206) 252-1600
    Contact: Angel Dawson
    andawson@seattleschools.org

    Whitman Middle School
    9201 15 Ave NW
    Seattle, WA  98117
    (206) 252-1200
    Contact: Sue Clauson
    seclauson@seattleschools.org

    Whittier Elementary
    1320 NW 75 St
    Seattle, WA  98117
    (206) 252-1650
    Contact: Joan McDonagh jemcdonagh@seattleschools.org

     

    Interested in donating food items to Weekend Food For Kids?
    Here are the Top 5 Items we need:

    1. Granola Bars
    2. Organic Mac & Cheese
    3. Individual packages of nuts or trail mix
    4. Single-serve Instant Oatmeal
    5. Snack size fruit cups (in their own fruit juices!)

    Donations are accepted at the Ballard Food Bank during regular donation hours.

    THANK YOU!